Government should provide free college and university education to all the students.

Education is the prime importance in present society and government should encourage all it’s citizen to pursue good education for their benefit as well as for the benefit of country. In this regard, the speaker’s claim that government should provide free education to all the student may have some merit however there are glaringly obvious disadvantages too of this policy of government. Hence I only partially agree to the speaker’s assertion.

To begin with, what benefits there are of the free college and university education? Obviously there are many advantages of free education to the resource poor students. Those students who cannot strive higher education despite having potentiality, because of poor economy are mostly benefited by this policy of government. Moreover, those students who might go out of country seeking scholarships also may remain in the country itself. At present almost 12000 students of Nepal pursue foreign education only because of unaffordable higher education in the country and lucrative scholarships in foreign universities. These skilled manpower are the assets of nation and nation’s future progress and development relies on them. Hence, free education certainly has some merit.

However, having said so we cannot neglect the disadvantages the free education has. At first, it’s too much of economic burden to the country. A developing country which is resource poor can never afford such expense. Apart from education, there are various other basic necessities which the government need to address and spending great deal of economy on the education only is certainly not judicious. We can see many developed countries too reluctant in spending excess amount of country's budget in the higher education. In place of free education, however sponsorship has ultimate benefit for the country as well as students also. Students are constantly reminded about the expense and even pay it through bond after acquiring education.Thus, free education is not as beneficial as we think of.

Moreover, if all the students are provided free education, they may be lazy as they need not pay any expense for the study. Some years back, in our country government implemented the policy of free education. Because the students did not have to pay for the study, they started roaming here and there neglecting their study. The increased carelessness among the students led the government to amend its decision and the government started providing only partial scholarship. This not only mad decreased the neglecting behaviour among students, but also increased competition among them.

In summary, athough the free education has some advantages, the disadvantages cannot be neglected. So instead of providing completely free education, government should choose the mid way to provide free education to some students and to provide education in pay to some students.