Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The statement argues that the government should provide financial support to their major cities so that they can preserve the culture and the tradition of their country. Many of us argues that this will hold all the time, while others will counter this. In my essay, I will highlight why government should not provide financial support to the major cities and will provide sound reasoning for the same.

First, major cities are the backbones of countries economy and provide employment to people from different state, language, culture and tradition, which makes them cosmopolitan in nature, however their customs and traditions are different from the rest of the country, for example, in the Mumbai, known as the financial capital of India, whose tradition is different from the most of the cities of India like their social resembles with the other major cities of the world such as London, New York and there is similar pattern follows in the most of region of south east Asia. So, if the government provide the financial support to major cities so that they can preserve tradition and culture, won't fulfill the purpose.

Secondly, if look at the countries of the south east Asia, where major part of world population is living either on poverty line or below the poverty, and if their government start spending or providing support to the major cities, then it create the major issues in their respective countries because this will leads to more poverty, more crime rate and to various other problem. This argument might be feasible to the developed countries, as they don't have any such problem.

Third, cultural and traditions are most followed in the village areas and they are limited to village because cities more vulnerable in battles than villages. The complex politic turmoil, often happened in huge cities, also has negative influences on the culture protection. In small villages, the calm and steady life style are better for culture protection. Some old architectures remain only damaged structure, due to the war. For instance, the temple in Athens, and the old summer palace in Beijing. However, in small villages, some old structures can avoid the war damage.

In nutshell, we can say that providing financial support to the major cities won't be a good idea because traditions and cultural are now limited to the village and instead of this the government should focus on the other issue in the country and should try to counter them.