Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

When we hear the name of a certain country, we often envisage the scenary of that country based on the characteristical monuments of its major cities. In this regard, it is arguable that a nation’s cultural assets are mostly generated and preserved in its major cities, and consequently that governments should financially support their major cities to make them thrive. Although I agree with the claim that governments must provide a financial support to its major cities to preserve their culture, I disagree with the statement that the cultural ambience of a nation is entirely determined in its major cities.

Granted, preserving and thriving cultural monuments in major cities are crucial to the nation’s reputation. As mentioned above, when we hear the name of a nation, we do not imagine the scenary of its rural area but its major cities. For example, the effiel tower and the park nearby it constitute the representative image of France, and Big Ben and the Westernminster Abbey are the image we mentally visualize when we hear of England. As revealed in these somewhat blatant examples, certainly there are important cultural monuments and concomitant ambience that heavily influences on the people’s perception of their nation.

In addition, considering the increasing importance of cultural prowess, it is apparent that the reputation and people’s preconception of a nation are becoming more important also in economic perspective. The K-dramas of south korea epitomizes this point of view. Before K-culture’s gaining its global popularity, South Korea was not an attractive option for tourists. However, the characteristic artefacts that appear in K-dramas enticed K-drama aficionados, leading them to visit Korea. Consequently, South Korea earned a substantial profit through tourism. Therefore, even in terms of economy, preserving and thriving the culture of major cities are important.

However, it should be noted that a nation’s cultural traditions are not entirely preserved and generated in cities. For example, in case of dealing with the tea culture of China, the culture that gained a global popularity nowadays, tea culture was originated in its rural area. The reason is evident, since there were no comestible leaves nearby its major cities due to the inexorable construction of palaces and other monuments. Therefore, tea culture was initiated and fostered entirely in the rural areas of China; the Boi-tea, which is one of the China’s characteristic tea, was originated from the place located on the border of China. In addition to this parochial example, there are also other compelling examples, such as Sushi of Japan and Bulgogi of Korea, where a nation’s characteristic culture was actually originated from and developed by its rural area.

In brief, although preserving and thriving cultural monumens in major cities are important in that it heavily affects the people’s perception of their nations, it is not that nations’ cultural tranditions are virtually solely engendered and fostered by their major cities. Therefore, instead of entirely disbursing their budget to their major cities, governments should also take their rural area into consideration.