Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In comparison with peripheral areas, a claim that it would be more desirable to give priority to major cities in terms of financial support. The supporters believed that supporting such cities would be more lucrative for generating greater wealth.

Indeed, financial support for poorer cities would be less likely to generate income. Given that the smaller cities are usually less talents, the money that the whole country reserved for such cities are less likely to be used in the efficient way as major cities, in the case that majority of talents resident in cosmopolitans. Furthermore, usually major cities have more connection with global maket, whcih enables them potential to get earn money in channels that other cities cannot have.

However, this view may be criticised from view of equity that such opine would increase the gap between the major cities and the rest, which would exacerbate the income eqality. In most case, citizens in peripherial cities are lives with fewer income and poorer infranstructure including healthcare, education and transportation. This makes their demand for financial support more urgent than those in major cities, and they deserve the priority for financial support.

Even at such rebuttle, the government should safevouch major cities financial support at the belief that the major cities could give rise to the economy to those smaller cities. The supporters would claim that the spillover from the financial support to major cities would have strong impact on smaller cities, just like how Shenzhen, helped establish the economy of its vinvinity after being established as Special Administrative Region and safegared its financial support from the central goverment. Then its well-established infrastructure such as hospital, education resorces, and financial industry could also be beneficial for the nearby areas and even the whole country.