5.Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Culture is of vital importance to the development of a country and economy is the foundation of building and protecting it.The government in every country should attach importance to the preservation of cultural carriers.*The speaker’s claim is actually threefold: (1) ensuring the survival of large cities and, in turn, that of cultural traditions, is a proper function of government; (2) government support is needed for our large cities and cultural traditions to survive and thrive; and (3) cultural traditions are preserved and generated primarily in our large cities. I strongly disagree with all three claims.

Admittedly, it is significance of the prosperity of cities for preservation and development of nation’s culture.There are so many historic sites in major cities.For example, Paris, the capital of France, has the Arc de Triomphe and Versailles. Moreover, due to full-equipped infrastructure,major cities have enough financial capacity to support the construction of large museum and library with precious relics and books. However,some historic sites or relics carrying with national culture also exist in countryside and some remote areas.Even some of them are in fact a country’s cultural hearth. But due to limited resources and inclination of policy to give priority to the development of major cities,financial support cannot be allocated to these areas in time and therefore some culture might be not able to be preserve well. For instance, in some centuried countries with a long history, historic sites in some hearths have been destroyed as a result of the frequency of war and change in dynasty.

Besides, governments are ought to aware that financial support as the only approach is not enough for the protection of historic relics.A list of protective measures should also be taken action to make contribution to the preservation of culture.In addition, some cultural carriers is intangible such as local accent or language.For example,Due to the prevalence of Putonghua in Chinese mainland, many ethnic minority languages are no longer circulated, so such cultures need public support to arouse the public's awareness of language and culture protection.Thus,we can see simply investing money is not an effective way for culture inheritance.

To sum up,it is not reasonable to blame government’s financial support for major cities upon the preservation of culture in these places.Although how to preserve and inherit a culture still needs to be discussed, it is unwise to simply invest money in big cities to achieve cultural preservation and inheritance. In fact, diverse cultural forms and different distribution, must be analyzed according to different national conditions. Only by adopting the correct means and the reasonable allocation of funds, can the cultural protection be fully realized.