Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The claim made in the above statements suggests that the government of any nation should extend a financial support to the major cities for them to thrive. The reasoning behind such a claim is that the nation’s cultural traditions will be preserved and generated if such an action is undertaken by the government. I would go against this claim and the supportive reasoning by stating that the major cities, now a days are more often the financial, fashion or political capitals of a nation. In order to preserve the traditional culture of a nation, the government should sponsor the rural areas of a country where the true essence of tradition resides.

Rolling back a couple of centuries, cities like Rome, Delhi, Paris and many greater historical cities were the epitome of the cultural tradition in their respective countries. Prominent historical rulers were known to have ruled the major cities of the world and they made sure that the cultural heritage is maintained all over the country, more so in the cities that they ruled from. Hence, modern day Rome or Delhi are home to many historical monuments of great significance. Be it the Colosseum or the Red Fort that resides in Delhi. The engravings made on the walls of these monuments were reminiscent of the cultural traditions of those times. Sadly, these cities no more personify the cultural traditions that they used to. With the influx of migrant workers, the cities at present have become more of a cosmopolitan area which rarely reflects the cultural outline of the nation or even the city.

The government should rather invest in the rural areas of a city where the cultural traditions still form the backbone of the society. Handloom industry is one of the oldest industries to have survived over the span of hundreds of years. They have even survived the British Colonial rule and still exist in the rural parts of India. The fine details that the craftsman follow in order to make the handloom clothes truly signify the cultural traditions of India. The Government of India therefore should invest money in the handloom industries to keep a cultural tradition alive. They could provide tax exemptions that would encourage the citizens to invest in handloom clothes rather than international ready made garments. Made in India initiative, started by the Prime Minister of India, Mr. Narendra Modi was a much needed impetus to these local industries and it promoted the goods that can be produced in India and made many citizens realize that investing in local garments would eventually help boost the economy of India.

The main purpose of lending a financial support to the major cities is to preserve and generate the cultural tradition of the nation. I would partly agree with this claim by stating that since the major monuments of the history reside in some of the major cities of the nation, part of the funding should go towards preserving these pieces of history. But, in order to keep the cultural tradition alive, I am a staunch advocate that, majority of the money should be put into reviving the traditional industries of our nation, like the handloom industry. Such a step would ensure that the cultural tradition of a nation is being generated as well carried forward for the future generations to experience it.