Claim Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture based instruction in college and university courses Reason It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers

Finding the best way to perform teaching learning process in colleges is a matter of debate of twenty-first century. Traditional lecture based instruction was unquestionable method of teaching until the last century. Practical/demonstrative classes, group assignments are few among several methods of teaching learning process to come in limelight with With changing global scenario. To make students able to collaborate and work with peers while gaining most updated knowledge, group assignments should be a vital part of teaching learning process. This can be summarized as follow.

First and foremost, group works will prepare students to work with peers in order to get bigger goals. It is true that every job around the globe includes collaboration with their peers to complete a task. If students are not prepared for working in group since college times, they will take more time to adapt and acclimatize in order to work with their group. College group projects will substantially decrease this time gap by nourishing students with much needed experience even before reaching job market. In the competitive job market, this will certainly prove as an added benefit.

Secondly, group assignments will increase research and inference ability of students. These type of assignments will compel various students to carry on their independent studies and gather plethora of data from various sources. Later, the information will be brainstromed between group members, conflicts in information will be re-verified and summarized. Finally, information will be compiled in order to get summary followed by presentation. This vast process will involve every member of group to research and bring conclusion, making them more suitable for research related works.

The information collected and compiled by students during assignments is more recent than traditional textbooks and even than teachers notes. As the field of science and technology is ever changing and things that are true today will not necessarily be true by tomorrow. Teacher may not necessarily be updated to the changes and his knowledge may be incomplete. Books take much longer time to update. If students are compelled to perform assignments by themselves, they will certainly bring more updated knowledge compared to professor or teachers, making students and even teachers more updated to always changing knowledge.

Scholars argue that students acquire false information while doing group works and carry false information forever. However, This is not totally correct since Group works are a result of compendium of information acquired by group and not a single individual. Further, teachers are always there to correct and fact check the information and provide further guidance. In fact, this is why group assignments should replace substantial amount of traditional lecture based classes but not whole teaching learning process or teacher. However, it is a great idea to replace substantial amount of traditional lectures with group assignments to make students able to work in group and other funtions.