Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline students cannot be motivated by school or college alone

To some extent, I agree with the argument that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline. However, the arguer extends the opinion into an extreme which cannot be reversed while overlooks the significant role of school in motivating individual learning. On balance, my points of view and deep analysis are as follows.

It is surely reasonable to maintain that individuals are responsible for their own study, given that the demand and lure to learn is inherent in one's own heart. Any external forces are largely useless to empower personal study if the individual does not have the basic curiosity to the word and the fundamental reverence to knowledge. There are tremendous differences in grades between hardworking and indolent students even within the same class, in which the quantity and quality of teachers are homogeneous while personal motivations are totally different, resulting differentiated roles of school.

However, it does not mean that students cannot be motivated by school or college alone. The curiosity and reverence to knowledge can be cultivated by school from dynamic perspective, which is exactly the meaning of education. A sloth individual can acquire the precious personality of assiduousness from the life experience told by teachers. Meanwhile, the horizons of students are limited and require the help from school, thus breaking their bottlenecks and make gradual progress. Students can become adept in disciplines which they are overwhelmed through the imparting from patient teachers.

The combination of personal discipline and motivation by school may be the best way to empower learning and undermine potential obstacles in the way of study, for which the significance of external forces cannot be ignored and discounted. Only recognizing the help from school can individuals study better and become virtuous. Hardworking students may have the risk of being too conceited and losing the motivation to learn more if they cannot realize other's polymath and their own limitations.

In conclusion, it is not reasonable to deny that learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline, while it is also harmful and deleterious to ignore the role of school.