Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In our society, where media coverage is ubiquitous, some people claim that it is no longer possible to regard any living man or woman as a hero, as the reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny would eventually be diminished. From my perspective of view, it is undoubted that people's reputation would be exacerbated under excessive media coverage; However, not all of media could make endeavor to do so and people have different channels to eschew with such biases. Even if people's repute has been actually impacted by such slanders, we might still consider them as hero for their certain precious properties.

To start off, as Alexander Poes said "to err is a man", human being is apt to err in either life or work. It is possible that when every perspectives of one man have been open to the public, his/her repute could be comparably diminished. Because under such situation, any minor flaws could be discovered and exposed to the public. Therefore, it is relatively easy to find something which could breach with the social norms. For example, a war hero, who are willing to risk his/her life to fight with fascism demon, might be addicted with smoking publicly, which could be considered as a insolent behavior in environmentalists. Furthermore, we can precluded that certain media agencies want to leverage such chance to make sensation for the sake of winning the potential profits.

However, the assumption that every media could focus on the negative part of heroes to denigrate them for their own purpose might stay incorrect. First of all, it is understandable that every media agency just has limited resource and have to balance the cost and output for their effort. If they find that they are not capable of affording to scrutinize every details of target hero, or the target effect of report could only reach a weak degree for propagation purpose, such behavior could become meaningless for them. Moreover, even if some medias choose to do so, we are inclined to believe that not all media could tend to go for the same biases report, because a mass of independent media agencies in America still stick to their impartiality and objective goal for news reporting.

Last, even if people's flaws are disclosed by media to the public, such revelation might not necessary lead to their deterioration of repute. To understand this point, we have to revisit the definition of hero. Normally, hero represents who possess certain characteristics that could be admired by majority of people, such as courage, intelligence, self-sacrifice, and so on, which doesn't require perfection for an all-flawless person. Looking back to our war hero's case, although smoking in public is definitely bad exemplary from either environmentalists or education of young man perspective, the essential characteristic that enable him to be hero is his admirable behavior to make struggles with denoms and protect people from tramples. In case that media scrutiny or slanders from any channels doesn't endanger his gallant picture during war, we are still disposed to believe that he could be still and worth as the great hero in people's mind.

In summary, we have to admit the powerful role of modern media and delicate report on the derogative part of examplaries could diminish their prestige, because man is naturally imperfect and such foibles or faults could not match with the expected positive image. However, not all media coverages would like to follow such approach to blindly focus on the dark part of heros. In addition, granted that the medias indeed did so, people might still consider those examplaries as heroes, as they essentially own some necessary heolic characteristics.