Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Humanity has been regarding heroic figures for ages, such characteristic was found in history each with a story to tell. With every century passing there is more and more of stories of people who have had done a heroic acts, these stories will reach tremendous audience due to the growing media business. Until todays society where the media is within reach to everybody and these heroic characters will be known in no time. The prompt suggest that in our modern society it’s no longer possible to consider any man or woman as a hero due to how media scrutiny which can subject people’s reputation and erase it. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement and argue that society stopped contemplating heroic figure for two reasons.

To begin, the process of prodcasting news in varies forms e.g. television, radio, newspaper, has a downside of not being able to show the whole picture of what occurred at a particular moment. for instance, if a person was shown in cameras that he is harassing a small child but in reality he is getting red of insect from her shoulder then he will be seen as a disgrace to humanity even though he is trying to help. This example indicates that clearly what get projected to society through media is not the complete truth, it reach the audience through the angle of which the act has been viewed. Therefore, what seen as a heroic figure one day will be an evil person on another day depending upon the media projection of their actions from the wanted prospective.

Furthermore, keeping a clean reputation while being exposed to media is an intense rule in view of the fact that people who are under the public eyes will experience wide sorts of judgments. To illustrate, widely known people such as singers, politicians, athletes and so on, has indeed up and downs along their careers and each time they switch rules between “the bad guy” or “the good guy”. This example can be noticed in Will Smith’s situation where he was idolized and loved by many, but can’t say the same about him anymore after the Oscar’s misfortune. Perhaps this can be observed when a certain heroic, public figure makes mistakes under the eyes of the press, these unfortunate events damage the image of the wrongdoer on the long run which makes it difficult to restore the damaged, old heroic aura.

Of course, some will argue that if someone is cautious enough they will be able to maintain their image and their heroic stand. But isn’t this high demanding of the nature of humanity? People tend to make mistakes, whether it’s neglectable or massive, what’s important is that they learn from it. In either ways public figures can inspire or extinguish other’s hope they indeed have an effect on soceity.