Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

A persons decisions are based on their past experiences, one cannot remove deny the past's influence in making present decisions. However, The prompt suggests that the past cannot help in making the current important decisions. I mostly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons.

Firstly, Decision making is a subjective phenomenon. The person who is assessing it would look in a biased manner with his past experiences in life. All the mistakes that we have committed in the past and the learning from them should be carried forward to make a informed and sound analysis. For Example, Dr. Thomas Alva Edision, the inventor of electric bulb, have failed in identifying the proper material for the filament. If he doesn't analyze the failure and not identify the materials that are devoid of the properties of previous metal, he wouldn't be able to reach the correct fit. Adding to this, If Wright brothers haven't learned from their past failures of different flight models, they wouldn't have come up with the current working model of plane. Therefore, we need to takeaway lessons from our past in finding a viable solution. Building upon the past observations would result in an accurate and prudent decision.

Secondly, Certain things in the world are will be changing in a slow pace if not immutable, which often goes covert. We have an inbuilt mechanism that adapts our body and mind gradually to the changes around us. For Example, Climate change is a much discussed topic since decades. Many environmentalists and activists have been verbose about it for long. But, Climate change isn't a sudden phenomenon, it takes years or decades to observe changes in the temperatures. Also, art kept evolving with time but the overall essence of it remained almost similar over the years. Hence, we need not take impulsive decisions thinking of a speculative scenarios which we never know when they would precipitate. Instead, we need to make a gradual and long-term sustainable decisions by not giving too much weight to complexity of the world.

Nevertheless, we might also have some scenarios where our previous memory doesn't hold a quantifiable significance. For Example, we know a little about the fields like quantum physics, artificial intelligence, etc.., if we try to fit them into the existing model of thought, we may not make a fruitful progress in their adaption. We should have a fresh and futuristic thoughts in identifying the potential use cases of such new technologies. Also, If we keep judging things with our past affinities, we tend to be opaque towards change and may end up in taking erroneous decisions that could seriously impact our future.

To conclude, One can definitely not completely eliminate the influence of our past on present decisions, be it positive or negative, we will have some kind of effect. But, stating that the influence is completely vitiating, is a debatable concept. Ever-changing convoluted world can't be a proper reason behind refuting the influence to make a decision.