The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teachings are an indispensable part of our everyday life. Life in itself is a manifestation of several learnings we had. The prompt however emphasizes on the embracing positive actions and ignoring negative actions when we are teaching others. I mostly disagree with the prompt for the following two reasons, but there is slight merit in prompt’s assertion which I’ll talk about in the final part of my essay.

Firstly, No human is perfect in this world. Committing mistakes and learning from them make a person better. If the negatives are disregarded, then those mistakes might become a part of our nature and can hit back on us very badly. For Example, consider a child is stealing things from his friends during his childhood. Clearly, his actions should be reprimanded. If his actions are ignored by his parent, he might end-up becoming a thief when he grew up. The person who is teaching should be in a position to upheld his student for his misdeeds and provide him the right path to go ahead. Such a small alterations will lead to a greater good in the future.

Secondly, Teaching is a skill not everyone possess. The ability of a teacher lies in the way he/she’s identifying the mistakes their student is committing and working on solutions to obviate them. For Example, in a recent study, it is said that many students are comparing their real life to influencers on Instagram and tik-tok and often have anxiety and depression. The teacher should be able to identify the students with such issues and work on improving those students.

Finally, pointing only negatives shows a pessimistic side of a teacher which often make student think that he can do no better to impress the teacher. For instance, companies where the employees work is recognized by the employer often see a healthy work culture and increased employee involvement in building the company. So, If the teacher often points out the negatives, then the student will stop working towards improving themselves as they get vexed by the scrupulous nature and become amicable to what they already have.

So, It is both identifying the positives and negatives will actually provide the scope of improvement in the student’s overall health. Choosing a side is like choosing an eye over the other.