The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children

spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in

the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian

village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying

line 5

10

cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate

students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding

of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the children in Tertia are reared mostly by parents as opposing to an entire island population based on their interview with the Tertia children. The presenter supports their statement by pointing to the responses given by the children in their interview. He also states that the children predominantly talked about their parents over other residents of the island. However, the support of the argument appears vulnerable and needs further evidence to become ubiquitous.

Firstly, the author provides no information about the kind of questions that were asked in the interview. There is a possibility that the interviewer might have asked questions about the occupation, family tree or siblings which makes the discussion about the children’s parents obvious. There is also a chance where the interviewer is biased towards the conclusion and is asking a loaded questions to prove his/her point. In above cases, the answers provided by the children cannot be treated as the source for taking inferences. And, the final conclusion drawn seems to lack proper foundation.

Secondly, the children who were interviewed may not represent the overall village. For instance, the children that were picked for the interview may come from a family who have settled in the island from outside and were not part of the shared culture of the overall island. Also, if the island has a culture of disregarding children who are erratic and doesn’t follow rules, then the ousted children might have to spend most of their time with their parents as they aren’t allowed to mingle with other children. If either of the above scenarios is true, then the conclusion given based on the evidence doesn’t hold up.

Thirdly, there might be other accurate methodologies in understanding the children’s behavior than the interview method chosen. The interview method is much more objective in nature and views every child under one screen. However, each child should be approached with a different glass to really get into them. Also, the author doesn’t provide any information about the method that the anthropologist, Dr. Field used in coming up with his/her conclusion about the island. We don’t know about the pervasiveness of the approach adopted by anthropologist. There is a possibility that Dr. Field’s approach provides better understanding than the interview. Hence, we mayn’t completely rely on the interview-centered method to get a fool-proof conclusion.

Therefore, as there are many openings that needs fixing in the conclusion in order to hold water, unless the information such as the questionnaire in the interview, background of children selected, approach adopted by other researchers in the study, is not provided with sufficient details concerning the information, the conclusion seems ineffective.