Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Throughout history any empire that has flourished has taken into account the voices of the masses. The prompt states that the major decisions should be left in the hands of the ruler as they are well informed about the situation and are in a better state to make fruitful decisions. I mostly disagree with the given claim for the below mentioned two reasons. However, I do concede that there are times when it is better that the decisions should be taken by the officials.

To begin with, the involvement of the public,as has been seen historically, makes the authorities more aware, accountable and have a view that aligns with the improvement of the condition of the public. For instance, recently the government of India, without discussing with the farmers passed a law which affected them in a negative way. There were mass protests for the same and the government had to eventually cancel this rule. Another example could be if in a college or university the head of the institute consults the other senior members as well as the students regarding who should be the college or university president. Also in case of selection of a sports team the captain ( the guy heading the team ) would be asked who should play in the team and he would most likely consult with all the players about the selection. It should be considered important that the ones in power consult the ones who will be affected by the decision as it will increase trust and lead to better decision making as well.

Furthermore, the ones in power would most likely not have information about the situations in great detail.For instance the government did not have much of an idea about the situation of prevalent anti-national sentiments developing in certain parts of Pakistan initially which is perhaps causing some issues in certain states of Pakistan .Another example could be if there are certain schools that do not have decent quality of teachers or certain hospitals that do not have decent infrastructure it is highly unlikely that the government will have information regarding this situation.Also on a few occasions the information about the defects in certain infrastructure that is developed by the government is provided by the people which if not done at right time could be fatal as well. So eventually the public does play an important role when it comes to letting the government know about certain situations that the government might not be aware of or might not pay attention to as much as the situation demands.

While it is important to involve the people getting affected in some or the other form in most of the decisions taken by the government, at times it becomes necessary that the government takes actions based on its judgment. For instance, in case of a war the government should take immediate actions in order to safeguard its people. Also when there is some medical emergency or natural calamity the public should not be consulted. In summary, the government can take decisions when it feels there is some urgency and if decisions are not taken quickly then there can be some harm.

In conclusion, it is evident that government should consult the masses whenever their involvement will be beneficial to them and during times of some emergency it should take matters in its own hands