Claim Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system Reason Laws cannot change what is in people s hearts or minds Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason

Society relies on the government to address their adversities. After all, governments exist to serve their citizens, but can the government fix all its citizen's problems, especially modern societal quandries? The issue argues that the majority of modern problems cannot be solved by laws or legal systems for they cannot change people’s hearts and minds. I mostly agree with this issue and will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, I must acknowledge the effectiveness of the legal system. While it might be ineffective at solving every modern societal issue, it is particularly effective at solving several serious problems. For example, the legal system and laws have shut down numerous organized drug businesses, and laws against corruption have increased the effectiveness of government organizations. Thus, regulations are essential as they possess the power of changing minds, albeit not on all matters.

On the contrary, many of the modern societal problems are almost untouchable by the judicial system. For instance, the emergence of social media and the internet has bred an epidemic of mental health problems in the youth. These problems are the results of people's own choices, and the government cannot solve these problems by establishing laws restricting people's access to the internet because it violates the human right to freedom. This shows that the nature of modern societal problems renders the judicial system ineffective.

Lastly, laws primarily rely on fear of punishment to work; they act as a deterrent. But fear is not the only effective solution to contemporary problems, and they might even be detrimental in some cases. Alternative solutions such as awareness and rewarding upstanding behavior have shown to be efficacious. For example, mass awareness about discrimination against the LGBTQ community has exceedingly influenced general perspective towards them, resulting in people being more accepting of such individuals. Hence, it is possible to solve social issues without the involvement of laws.

In conclusion, this is a very complex topic. For particular problems, such as corruption, the legal system is effective and might be the only solution. However, the convoluted nature of modern issues renders laws obsolete and begs to be approached from various perspectives. Alternatives such as awareness and rewarding policies, which are effective at changing people's minds, are better equipped to solve contemporary issues.