Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

People look to the government to fix their problems. After all, government is there to serve the people, but can government fix all of people’s problems, especially modern societal problems. The issue argues that many of modern problems cannot be solved by laws or legal systems because laws cannot change what’s in people’s hearts and minds. I mostly agree with this issue and will elaborate further in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, I must acknowledge the effectiveness of laws and legal system. While they might not be very effective at solving all kinds of modern societal issues, they have been very effective at solving some serious problems. For example, legal system and laws have shut down numerous organized drug business, laws against corruption have made government more effective. Laws do have the power to change people's minds albeit not on all matters but they do in fact hold some power and have shown that they are necessary.

On the contrary, many of modern societal problems are almost untouchable by law and legal system. For instance, the emergence of social media and the internet has bred almost an epidemic of mental health problems in youth. These problems are caused by people's own choices and the government cannot solve these problems. have establishing laws restricting people's access to the internet because that would be a violation of human rights and freedom after all not all people who use social media face these problems. It is the nature of modern societal problems that renders laws and legal systems ineffective. These problems can only be solved by changing people minds.

Lastly, laws rely on fear of punishment to work. they solve societal problems by acting as a deterrent. But fear is not the only effective solution to most problems in, fact, they might be detrimental in some cases. Some social problems can be solved through awareness and policies that reward good behaviors. For example, mass awareness about discrimination against gay people have severely influenced people’s perspective towards homosexuals. People are in general more accepting of gay people nowadays. This shows that it is possible to solve social issues without the use of laws.

In conclusion, this is a very complex topic. Nature of modern social problems is very convoluted and cannot be solved by one method alone, the legal system. Modern social problems required different approaches and do require change in people's hearts and minds to solve which the law may have a hard time doing in all the cases. Alternative approaches might be more effective and tackling some modern problems. It is true that law is effective and might be the only way to solve some problem; it is not true for many of the modern societal problems.