A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The process of how to educate a nation is of paramount importance. A country can take different approaches on how to teach their young. The statement argues that the same national curriculum be used until a student enter college, that is, until high school. I mostly disagree with this position and believe that a nation should allow schools and high schools to adapt and create curriculum according to their and students’ requirements.

First of all, students can benefit from a well-developed standardized curriculum that addresses all the fundamental subjects. Subjects such as math, science, language, etc are essential throughout an individual's life. Even if a student chooses say art as their major in college, they will need to do their taxes where mathematics comes in handy. Likewise, they will have to issue letters in government organization where language comes in handy. In this way, a standardized curriculum will ensure that a student foundation knowledge to be a functional part of the society is covered.

However, standardized curriculum falls short when it comes to effectively teaching a student. Every student is different and learns differently. To illustrate, say a middle school student Alan has a hard time learning by reading text books but learns easily if taught through entertaining videos. A standardized curriculum cannot account for students like Alan and allow for various ways to teach because it is standardized. If teachers are allowed to adapt the curriculum according to needs of a student, they can effectively teach every student. Additionally, There is also the matter of teacher's style of teaching. A national curriculum will limit teachers to use only the specified method of teaching which is narrow and restricting.

Secondly, a standardized course will teach students subjects that they may never use in their future career so the time and effort invested in learning these subjects is wasted and could otherwise be used effectively were they allowed to specialize and adapt according to their interest earlier on. A student who specializes earlier on will have more knowledge and is more ready for their college studies than a student who doesn't and has a more general knowledge. So, it makes sense to save student's time and allow for focused studies earlier on through adaptive curriculum rather than a standardized one.

In conclusion, educating a nation is a convoluted and important topic. While it may seem like a good idea to enforce a nationwide standardized curriculum to ensure the bases of all students are covered, it is a flawed approach. Whereas, an adaptive curriculum which guarantee's effective learning, is not restricting to teachers and saves students time and effort by allowing to specialize early is the better approach.