Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

I partially agree with the claim mentioned in the passage about the extent that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system because there are certain things in our society that needs to be monitored by laws and certain things that people must be self conscious about.

Firstly in India the mob lynching is one of the most dangerous issue in which many people are killed majority of which are Muslim it is because of lack of legal systems against the criminals because the government lead by Mr narendra modi is supporter of Hindu radical group Rss because of which goons are getting support in killing many of the innocent Muslims which was not the case when there was congress lead government in India people were scared of laws. In this case the argument fails because Hindu goons had crimes in there hearts but they were not able to execute it due to the strict rules during the congress regime.

There are also some cases where people must be ethically aware in order to solve the problem which occurs in our society like throwing the garbage in the streets. This kinds of problems must be solved by different approach by awaring people not by punishing them problems

Removing the social taboo like chaupadi pratha ( it is a social taboo where a girl must live in cowshed during her mensuration cycle typically practiced in rural Nepal) these kinds of issue should be solved inside the society by awaring people about its ill effects not by putting them in jail.

Therefore we can say there exists different kinds of problems in the society and for solving these problems we need to come up with different kinds of ideas and solution in order to solve the problem that benefits the society as a whole. either laws and orders or awareness cannot solve every problems.