Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that legislation cannot affect a change in the opinions and attitude of people and laws are not the panacea to all ills that plague our society today. While I concur with the author when he opines that law cannot be the solution for all problems, I disagree with the statement that laws cannot effect a change in peoples’ attitudes and beliefs and propose that given sufficient time laws have the ability to change the ethos of a society.

Laws are only structural guidelines that delineate behavior and guarantee people their freedom while ensuring that the rights and freedoms of others are not encroached upon. In absence of legislation, we would be ruled by a state of anarchy and chaos with each individual plundering and pulverizing at will and the law of jungle where the mighty thrive and the weaker perish, would be true for the human race as well. However while laws provide a frameworkwithin which to operate, by themselves they do not guarantee an equitable and just society. Laws need to be supported by a substantial deterrence for people to take them seriously. They also require ardent supports who would act like harbingers of change and propel others to adopt them as well. However all these still believe that human behavior can be predicted and thus controlled. In truth, human behavior is as much as rational as irrational, as though-out as impulsive and as cognitive as emotional.The fact,that human behavior cannot be restricted is evidence from middle eastern countries where severe laws and corporeal punishments are also incapable of casting human behavior into a mold.

Laws, over a sufficient period of time can however engineer a social change. The initial indifference metamorphoses over a length of time into acceptable behavior and deviations are viewed as social stigmas which replace enforcement as the deterrence to aberrant behavior. From abolition of slavery in the US, to stigmatization of the sati practice in India, laws have seeped into the social conscience of nations with a majority of denizens accepting them as part of their moral conduct.

Laws have managed to reform not only how people behave but also how they think. Laws governing science have transformed how people view their world and from an almost exclusive religious outlook of the functions of nature, an objective and scientific rationale of phenomena is considered. The universal law of gravitation for instance has given an objective grounding and changed the way we cogitate.

In summary, laws have both the power to transform behavior and thinking. Laws, though, do not work in silos and strong mechanism both promoting desired behavior and curtailing behavior need to be implemented. However a complete transformation of human behavior is not possible even under the best of legislation and enforcement as the vagaries of human mind cannot be ascertained completely.