Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In modern days, there are many social issues residing in our lives. Thus, it is debatable how can these problems be resolved. I disagree with the statement that laws and legal systems cannot solve a variety of problems of the modern world, and I also disagree with the reason as well, that people’s minds can be changed by enacting laws.

First, in individuals’ lives, many more issues can be resolved by leveraging laws. Take divorce, for example. Divorce rate is taking a big part in the United States, and the number is increasing nowadays. Issues with the failure of marriage, or other family problems are residing in current society, and many people are using laws as instruments to get out of those troubles. As a result, individuals can enlighten their lives by using laws to solve their pivotal issues.

Second, the legal system can make a change to many social issues. For example, in vaccine issues regarding COVID-19, many people did not want to take newly developed vaccines, which were not fully tested for humans. However, the government protested citizens to take vaccines, or if they were not able to engage in social life. By making legal systems that encourage people to take vaccines, made most of the people take vaccines such as Pfizer, and Moderna. As a result, people were able to live in a safer society protected from Coronavirus.

Moreover, peoples’ minds and hearts can be changed by laws and legal systems. To illustrate, take marriage for example. Even if one of the couples does not want to end the marriage, it has to be ended if the law says it. Like so, enacting laws or having a legal system may not cover all individuals’ minds.

In summary, many social issues can be resolved by enacting laws and using legal systems in the right way. Government and leaders should use this tool wisely to develop our nation into a better world.