Claim Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s major field of study Reason Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated

Education is the backbone of a nation. But, what is education? What should I learn to be a educated person? The prompt here recommends that Universities should provide variety of courses to it’s student outside the major field. The prompt also mentioned the reason behind it that learning various disciplines is the best way to become truly educated. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim mentioned in the prompt and argue that a university should offer variety of courses for every field, some of which may not related to this field, for the reason mentioned in the prompt.

To begin, one, to be a truly educated person, should learn some outside courses like ethical education outside his major field. If a person become a doctor and he doesn’t learn about moral value in his college or university he wouldn’t make a proper statement to his patients. He may overcharge his patients due to the lack of his moral values. These is only the one bad side of not learning outside courses.

Further, If a person become a good engineer and one day he perpetrate car accident, and if there is no hospital near the accident spot ,you must need some first aid by yourself otherwise, even, you may die. His engineering knowledge may not be enough to keep him alive.

To wrap up, considering different viewpoints and aiming for practical solution is the key when dealing with these type of complex issues. Of course, one may argue that, if I want to be an electrical engineer, isn’t it a waste of time and effort to study some courses related to other fields like human psyocology? I would say that, perhaps, you will find a job to a well known company which run through high voltage competition with other companies. If you don’t know the basic of human physocology how will you design a product which people will like? So, we should, obviously, learn some courses outside our major to become truly educated person and also for making a noticeable statement in the job field.