Claim: young people’s tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets have hurt their development of social skills.

Reasons: these devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

It is said that the social and communication skills of young people due to their overuse of portable gadgets, such as mobile phones and tablets have been hurt. One of the reasons given for this claim is the ability given to online users by these devices to create fake personalities and relationships which can destroy the honesty and trust among people. I agree with this point of view to some extent.

The excessive use of portable devices by young people is not overstating. Nowadays, we can see that it is so normal for parents that their children to have high-quality mobile phones or tablets. They argue that they want to give a chance their children to keep up with the time and develop their creativity and innovation. However, have children enough knowledge and deliberation for the use of such devices? Can they keep a balance between their study time and their game time with these devices? According to my experience, many children do not have this ability and most of the time, they sacrifice their study time to spend more time with their tablets or mobile phones. Even, they use their tablets when they need to sleep at night. This condition not only can weaken their vision but also can cause mental and psychological dependence on such devices in children. The dependency created can encourage such children to self-isolate because they prefer to spend their time in the virtual world instead of playing with their peers. This situation can hurt their social skills, as they lose their ability to keep in touch with different people and make a friend. As a result, after a while, they turn into introverted and depressed people who find it difficult to communicate with others.

With the introduction of advanced technologies in such devices, such as the internet, many young people have been allowed to make a connection with different people and expand their scope of communication. For example, with the accessibility to different platforms, such as YouTube, Telegram and Instagram, they can know about the daily activities of different people, ranging from unknown wealthy people to celebrities. This condition can tempt young people to turn to their phones and tablets frequently in order to follow the stories and posts on such platforms. The over-participation in social media can cause young individuals to compare themselves with people showing off their luxurious lifestyles, regardless of whether or not they show the truth. This situation can encourage young people to build their life similar to rich people because they feel inferior to those people. However, having such a lifestyle is too expensive and the low economic condition can force young people to lie and introduce themselves based on something opposite to their real world. This activity is usually done by putting fake pictures on the profile or giving wrong information. Therefore, with the creation of artificial personalities, such people lose their ability to keep in touch with others in the real world because in the real world they cannot gain their virtual respect and attention. Also, if well-off people do not control their hourly use of social media, the overstated positive feedback given to them can make them narcissistic which can cause them to become selfish and think that they can boss all people around. As a result, they may lose their friends because of their incorrect behaviour.

In conclusion, in my view, one of the negative consequences of the overuse of tablets and smartphones is to hurt the development of social skills in young people. This condition can also cause other problems that I mentioned in my writing.