College students should base their choice of field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The ultimate aim of study is stable, secured life. College students should thus choose their field of study based on the scope of the field says speaker. However, I don’t agree with the speaker’s assertion. Although the field offering greater diversity of opportunities may be tempting regarding immediate benefit, it can never ensure long term success or benefit. Thus I think instead of following the opportunities, students should follow their interest for the success.

To begin with, let us take an example of Albert Einstein. At his time, quantum physics never existed. Had he agreed to the speaker’s claim he would never have pursued his interest and would have run after some financial job or any other field which promised better opportunities. Instead, he adhered to his interest and kept on cajoling his dreams and ultimately became successful in revolutionalizing the world. We cannot even imagine Einstein doing some work sitting infront of computer just because that job promised better life. This shows, it’s not opportunities define us. Infact, we create opportunities ourselves.

Additionally, there are several pathbreakers like travel blogger, youtuber, vlogger who have created opportunities for themselves. Before them pursuing the field, nobody thought they would ever survive in the field as the field had no security, no opportunities, yet they followed their interest and now they are renowned in the society because of their peculiar activities. Sisan Baniya, a travel blogger, is famous in our country. He never bothered to do what other urged him to do and following his has made him successful.

On the flip side, the opponent may argue, walking on the entirely new path where none has walked is difficult and has no security but pursuing the field just because of its abundant suppy of opportunities is also not that secured. To illustrate, lets take an example of banking sector, which is immensely rich in opportunities at present was not like that previously. Civil service was more charming some years back. And the field which is alluring today may not remain same some years later. And thus security is just a façade not reality.

To sum up, the popularity of field, job opportunities keep on changing. If we base our future on such capricious aspect, it may lead us to devastating situation later on. What remains with us always is our interest. If we have interest, we may even create our own job. As they say, ‘Where there is will, there is a way'.’ Hence should base their choice of field of study on their interest rather than on the opportunities or charm the field offers at present.