“Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of allowing television advertising to be directed toward young children (aged two to five). Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.”

Childhood is the most sensitive stage of life. Children are like blank paper. We can write whatever good or bad and turn them into any person we desire. It’s very necessary to pay meticuolous attention while shaping or tutoring them as it affects their life greatly. One of the most important influence on children is created by television advertising,. As everything has two sides, so does these advertisements.

To begin with, the positive aspects of television advertisements include, children get exposed to the world, their imagination power developes through keeping up with the new advertisements. I remember myself watching a promotion of milk. Since I grew up in the city, I had not seen cow and I didn’t know milk came from cow, but when I saw the promotion I realized milk was infact a product of cow and then it is transferred to the packet. Furthermore, I was able to learn that aeroplane flew, buses moved in road all from the advertisements. Advertisement, thus enrich children’s knowledge.

On the contrary, advertisements also make children more irrational. Sometimes watching the motions on the television children become stubborn and demands such like toys or even try to copy the action shown. Recently, my sister’s daughter, who is just 4 years old, was at my home. She saw a advertisement in the tv about a doll. The doll was wearing pretty dress and the daughter started making demands of the dress the doll had been wearing. She started getting nasty, when she wasn’t able to get what she desired. We searched the whole city yet were unable to find the dress the doll wore. She kept on crying, shouting and throwing tantrums and we couldn’t do anything except for watching her. I also remember the time when my smaller brother had tried jumping from the balcony of my house, imitating one of the characters, which was shown in the television.

I personally feel that, advertisements keep on exaggerating things. Despite their some beneficial sides, they in the general cases negatively influence children. Even when we adults who have developed rational power get influenced by advertisements, the children are really sensitive as they haven’t yet developed the capacity to recognize truth and false. In such case, it’s really not good to make programs directed towards children.

In summary, every coin has two sides. Similarly, advertisements oriented towards children too. However, the disadvantages far outweigh the few advantages of it and I believe that government should take actions towards banning such programs.