College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Picking a field of study is usually a very difficult choice students have to go through, sooner or later in their lives. There are a great number of variables to consider when making that decision. Very often, students are tempted, and even encouraged by their relatives and teachers, to pursue subjects in which they have deep interest in. But is that really the most important factor to consider? The fact is that, no matter what subject they are most passionate about, the wisest choice will be to take into consideration the job opportunities this decision will bring in the future.

First of all, it is a fact that everyone who is not wealthy by birth will need a job in order to have a life. Not only that is necessary for any individual in our society, in therms of conventions and personal achievements, but also it is the way people earn money in order to buy food and pay the rent. In other words, having a job is essential for anyone trying to survive. Of course, having a job you like may make you better at your activity, and will help you to be more successful on it. But, in the end, having any job is the primary concern you should have; having a job you like is just desirable.

On the other hand, if a person works in something s/he hates, chances are that professional failure will affect other aspects of his/her life, sooner or later. Not only this individual will be unhappy on the workplace, but this bad feeling may also influence negatively personal and familiar activities. To prevent that from happening, the best solution would be to find a subject that attend both personal and professional demands. Of course, that is not always easy to do. In the cases where the optimal solution is not an option, it is important to keep in mind that primary demands, such as eating and having a place to live, are more essential to anyone than satisfaction on the professional activity. It’s not possible to achieve this without having the basic needs fulfilled first.

For example, if a young man, who loves music and dreams about becoming a professional drummer, doesn’t take into consideration the uncertainties of this profession, he will be likely to be a frustrated adult, not only professionally, since the number of drummers who becomes successful is ridiculously small, but also personally, as the finances starts being a big issue for him. In that case, he will not be able to achieve his personal nor his professional goals.

In other words, picking up a career that brings great personal satisfaction, but that has no promising work fields in the future, should not be encouraged in college students. Of course there are some examples of people who invested precious time of their lives in pursuing dreams that didn't appear to drive them into any good jobs at first, and in the end made them very successful. But that is the exception. The safest and wisest decision a person can make is to choose something that attend both expectations: the professional and the personal.