College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Nowadays, people pursue a bachelor's degree or further education out of diverse purposes. one may regard such opportunity as a platform to expand their horizon, to develop their social network, or to acquire advanced knowledge from the renowned professors. others may see the degree as a cornerstone to enter a cutting-edge profession. Due to the distinctive purpose of the college education to each student, there is no single answer for whether students should be persuaded to a subject that is interesting or has better job perspective. From my own viewpoint, there exist, generally speaking, two different situations that will lead to three distinctive responses.

first situation is the most idealistic one, which is that the subject that interests the student happens to lead to a wide and opening job market. In contemporary society, information technology and computer science play a significant role in our daily life, and, thus, provide numerous job opportunities in this area. Thousands of graduates in related majors find a well-paid and stable job in the Silicon Valley, and, more importantly, doing the job that they are really excited and enthusiastic about. For instance, Mark Zuckerbuck, showed a talent in computer science from the early age, chose computer science as his major in Harvard and establish his own electronic empore of Facebook.

The second condition that I would like to discussion is when student's interests cannot guarantee a secured job. if that is the case, the next thing a student should consider is his/her financial situation. if he/she has a means to live a financially secured life, then it would be reasonable for the student to choose an interesting subject which will bring happiness to his/her study, invoke his/her creativity, sparkle his/her desire to promote that subject. A recent report is the perfect example. A chinese mother started her education in nutrition after her first child was born. To her, the sole motivation behind her behavior is to foster and feed her baby in a more scientific way. Without the worry of any financial difficulties, she chose the subject purely out of love.

On the other hand, if the The student need to consider carefully whether his/her investment on the college education can be paid off after the graduation. Several decades ago, there was a fad in biology that gravitated chinese high school graduates to choose a related subject in college in order to find a job afterwards. At that time, the primary reason for most of the people to get a college degree was to free them from assiduous labor job.

To sum up, I would draw the conclusion that, based on the complexity and contraversy of such question, the answer should be based on different situations. The best solution is to carefully evaluate each individual conditions, especially financially, before giving any advise or encouragement.