College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Here we are questioning the existence of a situation where college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs. From the above statement the author is basically raising an important aspect for higher education governance. The board of the college or the university has all the authority to decide and implement the rules to be followed. However, there is a unique perspective that is introduced in the above statement

The students studying in colleges are probably interested in undergrad courses offered by various universities across the world. However, they constraint themselves based on the latest trends in demands for jobs for survival. The students’ only aim to study further after school is to be best prepared for any job that they want. These are all in the hope of a secure future. Thus, indirectly diminishing the unique, special talents of their own. We may blame the system in the backend that has been constant for a period of time now. There is only rough and tough competition in any and every field. People don’t leave any opportunity. That part is good though. The worst case is they will not let any opportunity go even if they hate it.

Instead, the college students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that really interest them. Thus, allowing them to contribute their best to the community, to our planet. There should be no pressure for job-oriented studying to be specific. Also, this methodology may give them a little freedom since many make decisions under peer, family, or societal pressure. To remain neutral is the best. So it is in this case too. There shall be freedom for college students hence relieving them from tense pressure but at the same time there shall not be too much freedom that the students may go off track completely. There shall always remain peace in their lives. But they should be studying and be on the way of advancement too.

We can consider an example of the business magnate Mark Zuckerberg, the CEO at Facebook. He was admitted into college. However, he dropped out. Without getting into the specifications we can at least say that rather he had an opportunity to study the topics he’d wanted to, why would he consider dropping out. It would have been the best opportunity for any college student, perhaps. In the given manner, not only one could learn the core concepts but they could simultaneously implement those concepts to build projects, or real-world applications, some might even scale up to a startup.

But on the other hand there might be some cases where even though the students had more than enough resources they would not use their brains. The most potential holding organ for humans that can perform even the impossible tasks once proper control is established over it is our brain. Such students when given an opportunity to select subjects of their interest, may turn into failure.

From above reasoning, we can state that such an implementation of picking subjects of their own choice for college students can turn out to be very controversial. It may be beneficial to certain students but not to all. At least with the job – oriented mindset one is able to survive the rest of their life, though with a pinch of struggle.