The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The above stated excerpt states the situation raised after the reduction of maximum water flow of showerheads to one third of the original quantity. According to the resident of the Sunnyside towers apartment complex, from the letter for its manager, the current situation is stated to be optimal. Hence, there is a further suggestion of implementing the same for all the twelve buildings in the Sunnyside towers complex which shall increase the profits even more.

In this scenario, there is no actual proof of whatsoever the data we may talk about. We don’t have statistical data regarding the usage of water before and after the restriction of the maxima for the showerheads. Hence, the entire point is questionable. Even if we consider that the given situation is true there are possibilities that during that time people actually might have stopped using the shower head, or they might not be in town or living at home for that matter. All this prevents them from facing any issues related to showerheads at the very first. We can state that the owner of the apartment is quite eager to declare the conclusions. But in such scenarios, a longer period of time shall be considered.

There have been only few complaints suggests the owner. However, this is the scenario with just the first three buildings. While transforming from small scale to large scale one must consider that even the difficulties and issues faced are being transformed. Here in the initial phase, there is probability of the users being co-operative and harmonious. But this may not be the case every other time. There may be a situation where other residents of the apartments may create a bigger fuss about the restriction of flow of the showerheads to one third of the original value.

The motive behind reducing the flow is to be considered. In the current times, with the evolution of this planet, we are also experiencing its deterioration. On one hand there might be blossoms, however on the other hand we can see the world decay. Water is a precious resource for survival in this universe. We need to preserve our available resources and help in building a sustainable environment.

With water flow cut down to one-third, the entire sunnyside towers apartment will be helping to provide for those who aren’t lucky enough to use water in their day to day lives. However, none of it is mentioned in the given excerpt. Hence it is not very sure that the restriction of maximum water flow for showerheads is truly and solely a benefit to the sunnyside towers apartment or even to the mother nature.