Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like

smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and

relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around

them.

Here the author is claiming that the extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills. However, one cannot completely conclude the extent of truthfulness and practicality of the claim. Smart, portable devices have proved to be useful to the younger generation in many ways. For example, the easy and quicker availability of internet on these devices have helped numerous youngsters to develop their speaking, writing and listening skills as well as various other personality traits. Therefore, it is more important to consider the wide spectrum of possibilities when it comes to importance and usefulness of the smart devices.

The author is reasoning that these devices has encouraged the formation of artificial personalities. But the development of such personalities do not necessarily have a negative impact. Perhaps, an individual can able to change his/her existing mindset and can successfully adopt new positive traits by developing the "artificial personalities". For example, a kid sitting in an remote village with a smart phone in his/her hand might be able to learn urbane traits, which in his/her case would not be possible through honest engagement with poeple around.

Also, the lack of social skills in any particular individual might not be blamed solely to the smart devices. There are various reasons and circumstances that affect the social skill development of any individual, especially the younger ones. Perhaps family, friends, neighbourhood, and even the society might affect the development of social skills.

Despite the usefulness, one must not forget the side of the coin. Futher elaborating, one must not forget the disadvantages of these "smart" devices. The reason author mentioned for the claim might be true in many cases. There no doubt that the smart gadgets are successfull in developing an artificial environment around the people, which ultimately leads to the unwanted generation of artificial personality. The incresing engagement of young poeple in online chats and conferencing might be considered as one of the reasons of their lacking social skills. This can eventually lead to the lack of interest in genuine social interactions among the youth. For example, a student might not be interseted to talk to the teacher face-to-face, instead would prefer to message the teacher. This will not only diminish the speaking skills, but can also lead to development of fear of public speaking.

These young people with smart gadgets in their hand are connecting more with poeple far away from them, then the people around them. These youngsters are, perhaps, losing their touch with the people around them. Real, face-to-face, "offline" talks are rarely seen in the younger people nowadays. It is true that one cannot develop the social skills without interacting with the people around them. Online platforms might help an individual to increase their social skills upto a certain extent. But without proper interactions, one cannot gain the required social skills.

From the above mentioned reasonings and arguments one can conclude that the increasing use of smart devices is indeed one of the reasons for lack of social skills in the younger generation. However, as perviously stated, one must not solely blame the smart gadgets of lack of such skills. There are, infact, many arguments that completely justify the positive imapct of smart gadgets among young people.