Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

We cannot deny the importance of having all round knowledge but the speaker claim is I find a bit extreme. Although having outside knowledge will have beneficial effect for many students not all the faculties are in the sheer need of this knowledge of outside world.

To begin with, let us take an example of an art teacher. His job is to teach the various techniques of art to student and what positive knowledge will he gather working in the outside world? Instead for the students his more time devoted to them will be more beneficial. Similar is in the case of an Physics teacher. Physics is all about principles and from the outside world the teacher cannot gain anything that will help him enrich the knowledge of students. Literature, where navigating the past literature is more beneficial, has also very less of offer from outside world.

However there are many faculties where the outside world can serve in knowledge purpose. Take an example of philosophy teacher. Working away from the college he can gather much knowledge about day to day life of people and help the students inspire by illustrating such examples. In out university there was a Sociology teacher, who used to work as a detective. Everyday he had some type of fun story to say that made our class interactive as well as served us some type of insight to tackle the problems of daily life.

Additionally, working outside the academic world is not just to enrich the knowledge of teacher, this also makes the teacher fresh. And we all know, a fresh mind is healthy mind and efficiency of healthy mind is always greater than unhealthy mind. Never can an occupied mind teach effectively.

To sum up, although in the present world outside world also offers as much knowledge as the academic world in some faculty; not all faculty are such benefited. There are many faculties where only inside knowledge offer something significant. Thus, although the speaker's claim has certain merit we can't discard the opposite views.