Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

It would be easy for colleges and universities having good international ties to issue an order, making compulsory for all the students to study a semester in a foreign country. Although this would ensure exposing students to new cultures, diversity and opinions, it would be very hard for students with a poor financial status to fulfil this requirement. Also, due to time constraints, adjustment quality, language barrier and difference in ideologies of colleges, a student might not be able to perform as efficiently as he/she would have done if working in his college. It would be in the best interest of students that studying in a foreign university must be a voluntary choice rather than compulsion.

Firstly, it mostly requires a lot of money is spent in arrangements to go and stay abroad- flight tickets, accommodation, food, daily needs and commuting source among others. Students who hail from villages or small towns and cities find themselves unable to afford such a heavy amount. If made compulsory, they would need to borrow money or take loans at high interest rates to make their ends meet.

Secondly, if the students are required to go in a country where local language is prevalent but the students are tyros or don’t know the native language at all, it would create convoluted situations in terms of communication and understanding. Instead students might be more efficient and comfortable in working at a place where they are able to communicate properly with their guides and understand the instructions lucidly. Hence, a student would produce better results in working at his own college rather than going abroad.

Thirdly, the college that students might go in a foreign country could have different vision and mission which would be different from the university they are currently studying in. This would lead to different work culture, difference in evaluation parameters and objectives. For instance, a student enrolled in Aerospace branch in his country could prioritize practical experimentation and knowledge but the university he attends for one semester might give primacy to modelling and simulation based learning. This would create difference in demands pertaining to achieve the students’ goals and ambitions.

On the other hand, if studying in a foreign country is made compulsory, it would expose all the students to new cultures, their way of living and give them a broader insight of how the same things can be approached a in plethora of ways. It would inculcate a sense of respecting diversity in students and their ability to adjust and adapt to a new environment, language, system and world views. To cite an example, a student realises the importance of efficient communication and respecting people from various diverse locations and religions when they live together or work in teams for a project.

Also, in colleges or institutions of foreign universities, various students would get a chance to work and attain experience and knowledge on topics that aren’t a part of their own university’s curriculum. It would help them to gain deeper insights and practical experience in esoteric topics and technology. For example, an aerospace engineer might get a chance to work on a project on manufacturing and assembling various parts of a space shuttle. It would be impossible for him/her to get the same experience in his country if no such project is ongoing or being planned.

All in all, studying in a foreign country should be a voluntary choice of an individual and must not be made compulsory by the institution.