Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is not uncommon for someone to argue that it is of great necessity for students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country, as studying aboard for a period of time not only helps them to improve their language ability but also broaden their horizons. However, there are obviously some drawbacks to push all the students to study aboard. The first is that parents may not have enough money to afford the fees. In fact, I consider it is a good choice for students to go studying aboard for some time, but it is not necessary.

Studying in a foreign country becomes more and more popular among students nowadays. The reasons that counts for this phenomenon may be they hope to work in another country or just feel interested in other culture. Truthfully, there are many advantages for learning aboard. If they choose to study in a country which is completely different with their home country, they can adapt a new language as well as learn different customs and taste various food. Also, if they go to a well-developed country, they may meet people all over the world so that they have the chance to keep contact with different people which will benefit them to rich their insight into the world.

However, the premise for students to go aboard for at least one semester must take studying fees into account. It will become a burden for poor family if their kids are asked to study in a foreign country. To be worse, if all the students are required to go to study in a foreign country, the school as well as the educational institution should help the students by giving them scholarship, which will be bigger burden for the taxer in the country.

Although some people would argue that only when students have the experience to study aboard can they have a better education so that they can make more money in the future, studying aboard may not have relevance with higher salary. For one thing, students may be unfamiliar with the new environment , they may have difficulty to understand the textbook because of the totally different language, which will become an obstacle for them to get a good remarks. In addition, they would not be successful in their job even if they have the experience because to be a elite has many good qualities such as to be delicate and smart.

In conclusion, I disagree with the propose to require all students to study aboard, but it can be a good suggestion if some students would love to and their family has enough money to endorse their kids.