Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Student life is a phase where one can explore the world, learn various things practically and seek to look at a situation in different perspectives. The prompt recommends that colleges and universities should encourage foreign exchange programs and requires students to spend at least a semester studying in a foreign country. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that a student needs to look outward and explore opportunities while studying for two reasons.

To begin, the whole world comes together with various cultures and traditions from place to place. Sometimes, we can see different traditions, cultures or customs being followed in two adjacent towns. It is best to nurture one with such different cultures when they are at age of a student, this would allow them to have multiple virtues. Studying in a foreign country will make a student to be independent and seek lessons from his own life. For instance, if one gets an opportunity to study in a foreign university and he or she gets moved to the other country, they must look after their shelter, clothing, and food. This makes them learn how to live independently. Exploring and travelling in the foreign country would leave with different perspective to look at a society. Learn what is right and wrong. How to handle a situation etc. The above examples illustrate that how studying in a foreign place would open a student and gives wings to fly and not being ended up in a closed shell-like life.

Further, In the current technological world, the job market is expanding continuously world widely. Many cities in the different countries of the world have already become cosmopolitan. In such a world, the companies and corporates are looking out not only for talent but also for someone who can bring in different perspectives at work. For instance, if there are two students with same skill set appearing for job interviews out of which one had undergone foreign exchange program and other had completed all the course in the same local university. The chances of selecting would be higher for student who had completed one of the semesters in a foreign country. One needs to also look at governments when thinking of education in a foreign country along with colleges and universities, to provide easy loan process and lower interest rates for students.

Of course, some argue that in our increasingly globalized economy competition for jobs this would reduce opportunities to local students. However, isn’t this why colleges and universities should encourage their students to study at least a semester in foreign country. If we do so, students are likely to do the best job possible. Students are likely to compete at a highest level. They ’re likely to stand out a niche for ourselves in the “increasingly globalized world”.