Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country

I agree with the statement that colleges should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Students can broaden their vision by studying in a foreign country. For example, When I was an undergraduate, I majored in computer science at the National Taiwan University. NTU offered a good deal of opportunities of exchanging to foreign counties for students. In these exchanging programs, students could have lots of different options of countries, such Germany or Japan. Because I was looking forward to engaging in automobile industry, I decided to be an exchange student in Germany, and I chose to study in TUM which was a top-notch university in the entire world. In 2020, I started my exchanging semester in Munich, and I spent lots of time visiting many automobile factories, such as BMW and Audi. With this highly precious chance, I could learn many diverse types of professional knowledge about cars, it totally expanded my vision than before. Moreover, I used some time to attend a few professional courses in TUM, such as artificial intelligence and computer vision. In these classes, I finished a self-driving projects with my classmates, in which we utilize lots of software skills, like “pytorch” and databases, which I had never learned in NTU before. Because our self-driving project was appreciated by professors, they encouraged us to attend self-driving car contest named FSAE which there would be over 70 universities attending this contest. In this contest, we continued to improve our autonomous model and reach a higher accuracy about 90%. Finally, we defeated most of other competitors and won a second prize. By contrast, if I hadn’t chose this exchanging program, I might haven’t be able to have such greatly invaluable experience.

Studying abroad can deepen our understanding about foreign culture. For example, when I studied an exchanging program in Germany, I also went to many historical sites, such as the Reichstag in Berlin, which was a historic building built in 1894. In this place, I could understand the rise and fall of the German Empire and discuss lots of interesting historical events happened here with my German friends. Moreover, I also went to Mercedes-Benz museum to learn the developing history of German automobile industry from 1886 to 2020. With these highly valuable opportunities, I could understand about German history deeply than before. Also, I could discuss many intriguing historic subject matters with local people, such as the second world war, which had an extremely profound influence on Germany. In contrast, if I hadn’t decided to study a exchanging program in Germany, I might not be capable of having this great chance to understand German culture and history.

Opponents may argue that studying in a foreign country will require to consume lots of budgets of students. They claim that it will take a great amount of funds for students to accomplish their studies in foreign countries. However, most of exchanging programs in Europe will not need lots of money, such as Germany, where universities will provide full subsidies for exchanging students. If students choose to study in these low-cost countries, they will totally not need to worry about economic situations. Furthermore, if students can still not burden these fees, they can apply for abundant scholarships which the colleges offer to exchange students.

To sum up, I agree with that colleges should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. On one hand, students can broaden their vision by taking some professional courses with foreign professors and classmates. On the other hand, they can also understand foreign culture and history more profound.