Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Charlemagne once stated, “To know a second language is to possess a second soul”. Perhaps not everyone who spends a semester abroad is required to learn a second language, but most of those individuals who do depart to countries overseas bring back aspects of a second culture within them. Studying abroad offers immense opportunities during and after the duration of one’s stay within a foreign culture, such as experiencing new perspectives, making friends with eclectic individuals from around the world, and learning more about one’s self in the process. While it is a highly lucrative experience, not everyone is capable of seizing the opportunity to go overseas; some students may not be able to financially make ends meet, and others may live with developmental or physical disabilities that render them unable to do so. Colleges and universities should not require their students to spend a semester abroad, as not all students can take advantage of the opportunity, but study abroad programs, especially those that last a shorter duration than a full semester, should be highly recommended to the student body.

Studying abroad opens doors in ways many individuals cannot begin to comprehend until they have experienced it. Going outside of one’s comfort zone is not easy, nor is it comfortable; getting adjusted to a foreign culture is intimidating at first, but the rewards can potentially last over the course of a lifetime. Students engage with a new culture in a much more intimate way than they would if they did not go overseas, such as getting acquainted to using a different form of currency or adapting to cultural norms vastly different from their own. Additionally, one comes into contact with individuals from a wide variety of backgrounds, each with their own story to tell. These connections can last over the period of a lifetime, further influencing the perspective from which one views the world around them. While some students may have cold feet regarding assimilating to a culture overseas, the overall experience is valuable in the lessons one learns in terms of their own adaptability, flexibility, and perseverance in different settings.

While studying abroad is rewarding in terms of self-discovery and growth, some students rely on loans and governmental grants simply to continue their university enrollment. To expect these students to raise thousands of dollars in funds to travel overseas for several months, especially without guaranteed assistance, is both unfair and unrealistic. Scholarships given based on merit are not available for everyone who may come from different socioeconomic backgrounds. Not only that, but students with both visible and invisible disabilities may be incapable of a smooth transition to a culture overseas. A student that has a developmental disability is far more likely to struggle with assimilating with both a new culture and a new university if the resources they need are not readily available to them. To expect students of these backgrounds to go through a mandatory experience abroad would assume that each individual is privileged enough to possess the financial or physical means to do so, which should not be the role of the university.

Immersing oneself into a foreign setting is beneficial for a plethora of reasons, but travelling abroad is not accessible for students of all backgrounds. As a result, colleges should refrain from making overseas study a mandatory prerequisite for graduation, but should continue to encourage students to further develop their perspectives of themselves and the world around them.