Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The author propounds the recommendation to regualarly monitor the employee mails in order to reduce not only wastage of time but also protect the company against lawsuits. Although this recommendation might seem viable and helpful for a company manager who is solely worried about the security and efficiency of company but the same recommendation will certainly seem absurd to a person who considers the privacy of individual employees as important as the company itself.

First of all, such monitoring can have adverse affects on the relationships between the company mangement and the employees. This may create unfavourable working atmosphere for employees and this can reduce the alacrity and diligence with which employees work. This move will make employees feel allienated from the company and may no longer feel the sense of belonging to the company. In the worst case scenario the employees may feel the need to leave the company and move to the companies with better working environment and treat their employee privacy and rights as important as the company itself.

Secondly, the recommendation aims at saving resource wastage probably by the assumption that the employees would not sent unimportant mails knowing that they are being monitored. This would save time wastage by employees in wasteful correspondence and increase their efficiency. This will also reduce the burden on the company server as assumedly less number pf mails will be exchanged. But the problem with the assumption is that it does it does not consider the possibility of employees conversing using e-mail ID unknown to company management. They may use this e-mail Id on their personal devices which do not use the company server. So, even if do not consider the privacy aspect of employees, the recommendation may fail to fulfil its objectives as such because employees may find a way to circumvent the company monitoring.

Although in some conditions it might seem important to monitor employee correspondence when there is some suspicion of time wastage by employees or even reports of some employees machinating against the company. But in such cases only the employees which are the possible defaulters should be monitored and not all of the employees. Also there can be other ways to reduce resource wastage such as timely completion of work by employee.