People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

When decisions are based on emotion, the odds of decision favouring us are no more than 50% but when rational thinking is put into decision making, the odds of propitious outcome can increase. Decisions made in a hysterical situation are categorically poor decisions.

For instance consider the Indo-Pak war of 1971. The win of Indian side can be ascribed to rationalized logical thinking rather than emotion. The then Indian prime minister wanted to start the war in summers and was greatly derived by emotion. But thanks the Field Marshal Sam Manikshaw who considered the support China can give to Pakistan iin summer. He urged the prime minister to wait till winters when the himalyas are covered with snow and any assistance from chinese side would be difficult. Had the Prime minister not agreed to suggestion of Manikshaw, India would have lost the war to Pakistan because of assistance from China.

Although there can be cases where emotion based decision making have not gone wrong but that can be attributed to pure chance and actions that were taken after the decision was made. For instance, consider the case of surgical strike carried out by India in 2018 in response to attack on Indian military base. It was very fortunate for Indian side that pakistani army was notaware of planning and the outcome was in favor of India. Had the Pakistani army known about the attack and reataliated the surgical strike, it would have lead to casualities on Indian side. Similar case study of Air strike by India in response to Pulwama attack can easily conclude that the decision could have led to tremendous chaos if India had not been backed by international pressure on Pakistani side.

A good decision should include proper assessment of possible outcomes of that decision where as an emotion based decision is done in haste and without due considerations and can lead to equal odds of propitious as well as unfavorable outcomes.