Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

In order for a company to thrive, its employees must be efficient and dedicated. So the intention of the policy seems to be at the right place but I am not convinced that the policy can be efficacious as though the policy might force the employees to be more prompt, concise and careful with what they email, this enforcement has an adverse cost to it. How far can the company actually go in monitoring the employees before driving them to solecism? Such restrictions tend to bridle the employees which might lower their productivity and efficiency. A lot of the people like to work with a certain sense of freedom where they at least have the assurance that they are not being constantly monitored. This policy might also make the employees more aversive to the company and thus, tend to affect their dedication negatively. Hence this policy can be self-destructive in the sense that it mars the very purpose of its conception - betterment of the company.

Moreover, how does the company even go on to implement such a policy? Monitoring something as subjective as an email is quite the task in itself. For example, in a lot of cases, there might be a need to establish a personal connection with the client in order to get a deal later. In these cases, the employee will need to establish cordial relations with the client by means of trivial and quotidian conversation. Now these conversations can be seen as frivolous and waste of company's resources and, the employee might find himself in trouble for that. In this manner, a case can be made for a lot of other types of cases where there might be an exception from the side of client or rapprochement of some kind is required or there is an emergency of some kind which will involve some non-work conversations to begin. It will becomes quite difficult to keep track of every such case for each of the employee, especially in a large enough company.

Regular monitoring might have the advantage of keeping the activities in check, especially considering legal matters. But restraining the employees at the cost of implementing a tedious policy which will only reduce the employees performance seems to be a too great cost for keeping a regular check on the legal activities. There can be other measures such as making the employees aware about the rules and consequences of a breach of company policies. Employees can be made to report their monthly or quarterly progress to their supervisor which will prevent the employees from straying from their job too much.