Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Learning is an important process at school as it give students opportunities to explore a variety of fields and shape their world views. In doing so, grade is usually a measurement to indicate performance students has on certain subjects. Some people suggest that the competion for higher grades among students greatly impugn the quality of learning. In my opinon, I mostly agree with the statement, and I will present two points to support my argument. However, I also concede that in some extreme cases, a drive for higher grades can give a student impetus to study hard.

First of all, in pursing higher grades, students might overlook the integral aspects of learning they should learn. For instance, in mathmetics, student who want to get a higher grade might just memorize calculation tricks or formulas to outstrip other studetns in grade. However, by doing so, he miss out on the most important part of studying math – using logics, analytics, and problem solving skills to build up his understanding of mathmetics. Similarly, in English class, a studetn in hope of getting a better grade on midterm might commit a considerable number of english words in memory. However, he neglected the point of learning a language – to communicate with people coming from different countries and backgrounds. As a result, a competition for higher grades did impugn the quality of learning.

Secondly, competition for higher grades discourgae students from pursing as many fields as they are intersted in. It is common that a student might not has good performance on all subjects. A drive for getting good grades may hinder their aspiration of exploring fields they are not good at as they fear getting a bad grade. For instance, a student who might not good at math tend to avoid class that involves math. However, he might not have an comprehensive picture of the field of mathmetics before he give up on the exploring mathmetics. He might discover that he are actually interestd in statistics – a subfield of mathmetics if low grades on math quizzes does not impede his passion. Similarly, a student who has subpar grades on english literature exams might miss out an opportunity to appreciate the literary masterpiece which she might be drawn into.

However, in some rare cases, competition for high grades does give impetus for some students to study hard and achieve their goals of outstrip other students in grade. For example, to get a better grade in a math midterm, a student might be determined to study harder by going to more office hours, looking for a tutor, or reaching out to students who are good at math. However, this viewpoint neglects the fact that this student might just memorize formulas, apply theorems he is not fully familiar with, or use guesswork to get better grade. The competition for higher grades gives detrimental effect on his quality of learning as it is likely that his way of learning math might prevent him from studying math at a higher level, since higer level studying requires passion, logics, and deep understanding of fundamentals in mathmetics.