Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To students, learning is the process of exploring different fields of study and shaping their worldviews. As a result, it is important for educaitonal institutions to provide students with a course of education which suit them the most. The statement of the prompt suggests that schools are incumbent on dissuading students from pursuing fields of study which they perform poorly on. In my opinion, I most disagree with the argument, and I will present two points to support my argument. However, I also concede that in some extreme cases, schools should recommend students to focus on the field of study which they are interested in.

First of all, the prize of learning is not just limited to the fruition of hard work and great efforts, it also includes what people learn from the learning process itself. For instance, a student who performs poorly on math can still learn logics, analytics, and problem-solving skills when he is exposed to the field of mathematics. Were schools to dissuading him from pursuing math courses, he would have lost a great opportunity to learn skills which he could have to learn in math classes and apply them to the real world after graduation. It would be a great loss for him and society as a career in one field usually requires baseline knowledge about several fields. For example, a job in a business consultant requires knowledge about not only business management and communication skills but also strong analytics ability and problem-solving skills. As a result, educational institutions should not discourage a student from pursuing certain fields based on their performance.

Secondly, the small setback in the initial process of learning is not indicative of ultimate result of pursing one field of study. There are many examples in history in which prominent historical figures made great achievements in fields which surpassed people’s expectations. For instance, Ronald Fisher, a great pioneer in mathmetics and father of contemporary statistics, had a hard time getting good grades in math class when he was in middle school. In his memoir, he recalled that despite of his poor performance on math courses, his passion for solving mathmetcal and statistical problems did not subside. With the encouragement and warm words from his math teacher, he continued on pursing math and statistics and eventually became a person who lay solid foundation for the field of statistics. If his teacher dissuaded him from studying math in the first place, then there would have been a great loss of talent for the field of statistis. As a result, eduacational instistution should not advise student on course of study based on their performance as the intial result of early learning does not define success in the long run.

However, in some extreme cases, when students already develop talents for certain fields and have no passion for pursing knowledge about other fields, then educaitonal institutions should encourage students to spend their time and efforts on fields which they are most passionate about. For instacne, to a student who has expressed no interest in learning science and has developed a passion and talent for dancing at an early age, teacher should advise them to explore elementary courses in science first, and if the student has shown no interest in science or expressed learning nothing from taking science class, then teachers should recommend her focusing time and effort on field she is most passionate about.

In conclusion, educaitonal institution should not discourage students from pursing certain fields of study based on their school performance as they can still learn skills in the process of studying. The result of early learning in schools does not define success in the long run as well. Educational institution should make suggestions on course of study only when students show no interest in certain fields and express learning nothing from them.