Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the fundamental right for all humans in the world, and classroom or educational institution has become the center of education for thousands of years. Competition has become the most attractive and dynamic over the history of humans in all areas of life which creates classes in the society or an environment.I partially agree with the statement that competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education. In today’s competitive school system competition with grades is the main attraction of study.

First of all, most of students and their parents all over the world want a higher grade in the class or exam which leads the students only to grade-based learning. In school, there is a limited amount of syllabus that is taught in the class and students use their all time to prepare for this short amount of syllabus. So they don’t explore other fields of study that will interest them. For example, Rohit is a top student at his class in a focus school in Bangladesh. He uses most of his time in school, private tuition, and self-study to study the appointed syllabus. He doesn’t participate in other activities and over time he becomes exhausted with the academic system and does not grow. So this competition doesn’t help the students in critical thinking, problem-solving, leadership skills, and do good research in their field so the knowledge doesn’t extend.

Additionally, classroom or academic curriculum is not the only medium of learning. There are lots of learning mediums alongside classrooms like online classes, clubs, YouTube videos, peer groups, and others. A high grade students usually only focus on the academic curriculum so they are not interested outside of the curriculum and have little knowledge in other fields. Recent research shoes that most of the high-grader students don’t do in the job field because they are not compatible with this post. They have only bookish knowledge but now practical knowledge. Today many low-grader students in Bangladesh are using the internet to learn to freelance and earn a lot of money internationally.

Moreover, competition is not always bad. Some competitive students explore other fields than the academic curriculum and achieve a lot of accomplishments because high-grade students are hard-working, disciplined, and more motivated to do a job than low-grader students. The grade of students represents a student's seriousness and dedication to their work. Some corporate or job look for high-grade students because they believe that high grades is a sign of more competent employees.

In conclusion, competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education. This competition creates an unhealthy environment in the classroom and no sharing of knowledge occurs and can’t learn from one another. Although competition for high grade makes students nerds, it sometimes does good and makes it more competent citizens of the nation.