Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since time immemorial, it's always been at the core of human nature to strive to be the best in every sphere of life one finds themselves in. The academic sphere, at whatever stage, is no exception in this pursuit. The prompt suggests that competition for high grades limit the quality of learning at all tiers of education and I strongly disagree with such notion for two major reasons.

Firstly, advancement in any field stemming from academics has never come from being docile to subject matters in such fields. Majority of pioneers/ innovators were former students who delved into new information from research. Instances can be gotten from top researchers in STEM majors who made major discoveries in their fields by delving deeper and making new discoveries. Majority of them such as Thomas Edison, Albert Einstein and Nikolai Tesla were noted in their biographies to have come from competitive academic backgrounds. Backgrounds in which peer-peer academic competition spurred the masked attribute to study further, ahead of class curriculum and ultimately which lead to global discoveries and advancements for humanity. The above examplifies the need for competition to spur the spirit of further study in students which alas, becomes the bedrock for advancement in any field.

Also, competition for high grades has been ever helpful in easing the selection processes in the ever demanding job markets. As population increases at a geometric rate, the need for jobs has likewisely for obvious reasons, increased. A fair, unbiased metric that aids the selection are academic grades. An example is gotten from top tech companies that make a first pick of prospective employees from top ivy-league schools. This selection is firstly made possible by ivy-league schools selecting prospective students with top grades amongst other factors. This aids the fairness in selecting employees in the public eye and ultimately also turns out advantageous as such prospective job candidates offer top tier quality in their respective job fields.

Some may however argue that competition in classrooms, especially those of the younger age group may cause enimity and may breed toxicity between competiting peers. Such an arguement however will be excluding the truth that such traits are the reality of the 'real world' and students getting accustomed to such realities in controlled enviroments such as the ones they find in classrooms proves advantageous. Ultimately, world advancements stem from a background of competition and the early exposure to such competition, if allowed, will yield even greater leaps for humanity.