"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

While it is true that most corporations have profit maximization at their core interest, one can't make the generalization that this is true for all corporations.

If we were to take a quick look at the news, we could identify numerous instances where corporations have prioritized their own interests and benefits over the welfare of the nation at large. For example, we could look at Facebook and the data scandals it has been involved in recently, infamously known as the Cambridge Analytica scandal. In 2017, it was brought to the public attention that Facebook leaked the personal data of millions of its users, and this data breach was also used to unfairly impact the US elections in 2016. Numerous other instances of users data being leaked have been brought up since and Facebook continues to battle the legal implications that followed. This is a prime example of a corporation placing it's own vested interests over the interests of the public. In this case, one can see how the data leaks grossly violated the trust Facebook users had placed in the social networking website.

Similarly, we could also discuss companies backing the controversial practice of hydraulic fracking, and the controversy that surrounds this topic. Since this practice involves pumping a rather secretive liquid (whose contents are not known, and private companies refuse to reveal it's details) underneath the ground at high pressures, inevitably drawing the ire of environmentalists who are concerned about the adverse impacts of this process. One such concern is that the harmful chemicals in this liquid could leak into nearby water sources, contaminating them and adversely impacting surrounding communities. Private companies however, continue the practice of fracking, despite the numerous warnings by concerned environmentalists. This debate serves as a prime example of corporations who only have their interests at heart, and continue in the rat race to maximize their financial gains at the expense of the welfare of their communities.

There are however, other businesses whose sole purpose is the welfare of the public. Not for profit organizations such as the Khan Academy, whose sole mission is to ensure free education for all, irrespective of their financial condition, geographic location, religion, cast, creed etc, exist and continue to do great humanitarian work to help their communities.

While I do agree that most corporations prioritize profit maximization over the welfare of the general public, it would be incredibly unfair if we were to make the rather crude generalization that this is true for all corporations. There are certainly exceptions to the statement quoted above.