"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. I disagree with the statement. The below points will substantiate my opinions about the same.

Large corporations, be it fast food joints such as MC Donald's, dominos or large software service based companies such as infosys, accenture, the main aim is to make profit. This profit is mostly used by the corporation for the welfare of their own employees and thereby for the welfare of the nation.

Corporations, creates a lot of employment opportunities for the welfare of the nation. As the desire to make larger profit kicks in, the requirement of the man power hikes as well. This improves the employment rate of the nation, thereby affecting the GDP for the betterment of the nation.

While the corporations aim at maximizing profits, in today's competitive world there can be 10 other organization performing better. This induces a sense of confidence and therefore, helps the nation with the availability of better quality stuff.

Few might contradict quoting the corporations might compromise with the quality to earn profit, a healthy competition will always ensure the standards.

Most of the corporations are large and successful because they work for the betterment of the nation. Take the example of Tesla. It is considered as the fastest growing company in the United states of America. Elon Musk, a talented thinker genuinely wants to solve the problem of pollution and global warming and hence, he is a success. Hence, a nation can always differentiate the good from the bad and help only those organizations make profit which are making the nation better.

While some might say that the profit maximizing strategy of the corporations might have a selfish motive, indirectly or directly these large organization ends up being a boon for the nation by creating a better economic environment and providing quality service to the nation.