"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

Although, there are certain rules and laws check corporations from going beyond ethical norms for maximizing the revenue, it has often proved to be unsuccessful and many corporations eventually find out a way to eschew such laws and exploit it for their benefit without caring about its impact in general public. so it is true in large extent that these ever increasing desires of corporations is bound to create conflict with the general publics' welfare.

Firstly, the corporations is run by large group of stake holders whose primary incentive is to maximize the monetary value of corporation as much as possible and if a conflict arises between profit and general welfare, the priority is obviously given to the option that adds to the value of company. Although few board members may argue in favor of public, more often such opinions lie in the minority and gets neglected. It can be exemplified by the recent hot controversy of the company Facebook selling user data to third company without letting its users know about how their data was being used. If such trusted corporations can sometimes go out ow way for the sake of more money, then it can be imagined there are other numerous companies which could have gone to similar length for the sake of extra profit. Despite the pros of current digital modern world, it has its shady as well as dark sides that general public may not be aware of but the companies are likely to exploit. Data has become the new gold in this era and many softwares,websites and applications seem to be fishing for new public data as much as possible in order to sell to other marketing, analytic companies. Such new crimes are not well defined by rules and laws and hence easier to bypass.

Moreover, in other corporations selling tangible goods to its consumers, as the corporations' demand grows over time, they have to increase the production value in terms of quantity and this has impact over the quality of the material they provide and if slight degradation over the quality is sure to maximize the profit they do not hesitate to go that way. But its a slippery slope, the greed for more never settles and overtime the compromise may become so harmful to the public that a strong action is needed to control such behaviors. It applies mostly in the food industry where a slight negligence can have devastating consequence on general health.

Therefore in todays society where everyone is motivated to uplift their economic status, it is safe to say that, general welfare gets often neglected. Although, minority may protest and try to revert back to what is right, they get lost in the crowd and unless proper governing mechanism that properly addresses such problems are made, the scenario may remain unchanged.