Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

The sweeping argument that discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs is indeed deeply flawed. It is inevitable that people will have differing beliefs and challenging the core beliefs of others may at times be fruitless. However, there are a number of examples that proves we must continue to open this discource to become a truly better society. This has been evidenced through many events throughout history. This sentiment has proven false through pivotal moments of political change and areas of scientific advancement.

Political protests are a prime example of when discussing controversial topics proves fruitful. Although not every protest or rally changes opinions, history has proven that through persistance and perserverence, confronting core beliefs can indeed change people's minds. Consider the 1960's Civil Rights movement in America. While many of it's rally's did not change the minds of folks who held on to rascist laws, the culmination of their efforts led to changes in our laws as well as the gradual change of an entire culture. In fact, if these brave citizens chose to believe the authors argument, the vast majority of our society may still hold on to those antiquated beliefs. The need for change necesitates confronting the core beliefs of others.

Even scientific advancements require confronting longstanding core beliefs. Charles Darwin's theory of evolution was absolutely in contrast with the deeply religious views of the time. His choice to continue bringing his work into the scientific community allowed for a great number of scientific advancements in areas like biology, chemistry, and psychology that society benefits from to this day.

The field of psychology also rests upon the core belief that often times strongly held beliefs can be changed when understanding a person's core motive for their opinion. For example, someone may be against refugees entering their native country and in a intellectual discussion may never be factually persuaded to change their mind. Through careful examination they may find this person had a relative murdered by someone who was a refugee. It is through understanding and healing the person's basic needs that they are able to better understand themselves and their core beliefs. Therapy, in and of iteself often confronts core beliefs that end up changing after realizing that the basis of their core belief may not be founded on factually based grounds but rather emotionally charged ones.

Controversy is inevitable and it is the choice of the individual whether they believe it will be fruitful to discuss their differing opinions with others. Politics, science, and psychology have proven that moreover discussing controversial topics, even with those who have contrasting views, is not only necessary but essential for the progress and advancement of society and ourselves.