A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The goal of our education system should be to provide a curriculum that supports all students in an equitable and well rounded way. An enforced national curiculum will enable all children to have as close to an equitable learning experience despite economic disparities. Additionally, the same national curriculum prevents educational discrepencies that may hurt children in the long run.

A just nation is one that strives to provide a an equitable educational experience for all children. It is well known that not all school systems have the same amounts of funding. This is especially true in low socio-economic areas. A national curriculum provides an even playing ground for students in schools of varying economic situations. One of the largest obstacles is making sure students who live in areas with less funding are still able to have the same educational knowledge as those in areas with higher funding. Enforcing the same curriculum forces government funding to acknowledge that each class across the nation requires similar funding as the curriculum and classroom equipment needed will be the same. A mildly different curriculum could be the perfect excuse for government budgeting to allow discrepencies in school funding.

School systems that offer the same national curriculum also prevent schools from providing curriculums that are too limited in scope. Some schools may want to specialize in specific areas such as technology, art, or agriculture. These specializations, while advantageous for those who wish to pursue careers in this, can become too limited in scope and lack balance by providing classes in their complimentary fields. For example, technology-focused schools may lack sufficient art education and art-focused schools may lack sufficient math or science curriculum. The case could be made that those who wish to get a specialized education should have the option to choose a specialized high school or middle school. In these cases this specialized training can easily be remedied through extra-curricular activities such as clubs and organizations. Often these options tend to be better as they are not limited to working with those in their specific school but can collaborate with others outside of their grade and in other schools. For example, local Girl Scout troups provide wilderness education that can often times be a large liability for schools. By utilizing an outside organization, the students are able to have more freedom with their extra-curricular activity and work with a more diverse population.

Ultimately, a national curriculum benefits the students by preventing a curriculum too limited in scope as well as one negatively affected by funding.