Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The argument states that maintaining the respect of his or her peers is ultimately a more important characteristic in leaders than sound moral judgement. There are several important reasons that this claim does not hold true. First, history has shown us that individuals typically do not want to follow leaders they deem immoral and this leadership style can even lead to the decay of the group - ie the participation in the Vietnman war. Second, the success of the religious industry has largely been due to the moral judgement of it's leader. Lastly, in our modern working world it necessitates that leaders value judgement over respect.

The Vietnam War is a great example in which many people drafted into military service vehemently disagreed with the moral justification behind the war. Those individiuals even went so far as to avoid the draft to uphold their personal viewpoint. It did not matter if they respected the military leadership. These citizens would refuse to participate in military service (even with the threat of jail time) because the leader of this movement was not deemed to be of sound moral judgement.

Many religions throughout the world rely entirely on the groups belief that the leader has sound moral judgement. Many religions are highly successful in this way, gaining followers and becoming quite lucrative. Even in cults, members may find that a leader is participating in something that loses their respect, for example laundering money, but because they are preaching a general lifestyle that they deem is of sound moral judgment, they will continue to follow those leaders.

On the one hand, respect can be vital in order to control organizations that rely on the compliance and diligence of the group, such as the highly trained Marines, for their complex and tactical missions. However most places outside of this specific arena tend to encourage and even require discourse that could potentially be deemed "disrespectful" such as challenging a leader’s judgement. These scenarios are found daily in the modern corporate environment. For example, a company's department meeting will often ask for opinions of their peers when going over solutions to issues they are facing. It is expected that workers bring up differing viewpoints to ensure that all angles of the problem are addressed and that the best solution will be determined regardless of whether it was the leader's idea or of a worker underneath them.