Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

During the course of their studies, students require a high level of focus on the relevant subject matter of their choice or interest in order to ensure their adeptness in the same. For undergraduate students who have decided on business or sciences as their core areas of focus, they should nor be made to veer off into humanities. They should rather be prepared towards their career aspirations without interference from other courses which would not be of assistance to their pursuits.

To start with, school curriculums should be designed in such as way to cut out the unnecessary long period of study. One would realise that more often than not, students stay longer in school due to the fact that they are compelled to take courses that may not be relevant to their future success. A business or science major student, for whom humanities courses are made a compulsory prerequisite may end up having their stay in school longer than planned or expected. Not only do the parents or sponsors of a business or science major student have to face the financial and emotional burden of having to expend so much on their student during this protracted stay - all due to the additional courses - such students may also end up losing interest in their first love.

Also, a business or sciences student who from the onset is not encouraged to face the crux of their studies, stand a high risk of not graduating with impressive grades. While there may be some commercially inclined students who are also good with a social science subject like Humanities, and who may in turn pull off outstanding results in all subjects, this may not apply to others who are averse to the content or topics that Humanities presents. Therefore, It may not be uncommon to find a business or sciences major student struggling to meet the average requirements for the Humanities subject. Such students may also end up not performing well in the business or sciences related subjects they initially showed interest in, due to divided attention. In order to therefore help business or sciences inclined students to chart a good course for their future careers, they should be freed of the unnecessary workload that Humanities may bring.

In addition, when schools consider that in order to perform well in life, experts have come up with the principle of the 10,000 hours - a person who has spent such an amount of time in honing his skills or abilities at doing a particular thing will be an expert at it - then there would be reason to allow students hit the ground running in the line of study they have been admitted to pursue. Although it is good to be focused on business or sciences for those who have decided on these, one may not outrightly overule the fact that the well-roundedness of such individuals may be lacking. Thus, taking business and sciences major courses and blending them with Humanities and maybe other subjects will make a student vast in knowledge and ability. Also, interpersonal relationship skills will be aided when one attends courses with students whose majors are Humanities. Another advantage of taking all these courses together is the fact that for a student who is still apathetic towards what he may want to pursue as a career, taking business, sciences and humanities courses will be a good avenue for better decision making.

In conclusion, school curriculums should be designed in such a way that the future career of students is taken as priority. While a good way of preparing a business or sciences major student is allowing them focus on these subjects, it is not altogether bad for such students to take Humanities courses if all other parameters are safely and carefully considered.