Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

To reach to a conclusion is always the purpose of any discussion. Though not always possible, some discussions remain unconcluded in the end. Discussing controversial topics with those having contrasted views is useful and necessary since the actual discussion will follow only when contrasting parties will prove others to be wrong and a conclusion will be made. But strong and adamant views of opposite parties may sometimes leave discussion unconcluded.

Considering that people on contrasting parties will not change their minds, it is true that the discussion would lead to a false conclusion in some cases. This is because rather than discussing what is right and what is wrong, parties will actually become more self assertive neglecting the facts, evidences and other's point of view. Rather based on theory made by their core believes, they would not accept or try to think of the other side of the view.

But, again not having people with contrasting views on any discussion will inherently qualify the discussion to be biased on one side. For instance, if a law is passed after discussion by a commitee consisting of members only supporting a particular scenario and no one to challange it, the law will get implemented without consideration of its negative effects on the society. An example of this can be seen in real world itself when pandemic started, discussions led to imposing lockdowns in countries. But no one was aware of the unprecedented problems that actually rose afterwards.By increasing the percentage of people supporting the contrasting views, the decision of lockdown may have been reverted or postponed. Thus it can be concluded that even though people may not seem to change their core beliefs afterall, but surely the conclusion of any discussion will get affected and inliclined more towards one of the parties.

In conclusion, absence of people having contrasting views will make the dicussion biased, but on the other hand having people with contrasting views may leave discussion unconcluded. Hence it is ambigious to state whether there should or should not be antithetical people involved in a discussion